News

18 September, 2018

THE REMARRIAGE MANUAL: The 10 Keys that Make Sex, Money, Kids, Communication and More Work the Second Time Round, Terry Gaspard, LICSW

From the author of DAUGHTERS OF DIVORCE, marriage counselor, and relationship blogger Terry Gaspard explains how go avoid becoming another dismal divorce statistic by learning tools for handling the issues specific to a second (or third) marriage (Sounds True, World Rights, Spring 2020)


26 April, 2018

RIDERS OF THE REALM: Across the Dark Waters, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

A new and exciting fantasy novel—the first in a trilogy—from the imagination of Guardian Herd series author Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. Perfect for fans of Lisa McMann’s Going Wild, Brandon Mull’s Wild Born, or Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.

Riders of the Realm:  Across The Dark Waters (May 1, 2018, Simon & Schuster)

Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live am

ongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe.

Twelve-year-old Rahkki is a stable groom for the Riders in the Sandwen army, taking care of his brother’s winged stallion. The Sandwens believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land, and turned them into flying warhorses. But when a herd of wild steeds flies over their village, Rahkki and his clanmates are stunned.

Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free, land. Led by Echofrost and Hazelwind, the Storm Herd steeds are unaware of the Sandwens. But when the unthinkable happens, Echofrost and the rest of Storm Herd will have to come to trust the Sandwens, or both may not survive

Review


25 April, 2018

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS, Elaine Neil Orr

From the critically acclaimed writer of A Different Sun, a Southern coming-of-age novel that sets three very different young people against the tumultuous years of the American civil rights movement…

One of Buzzfeed’s “7 coming-of-age tales to pick up this April” (Berkley/April 2018)

Kate Monroe’s parents have died, leaving her the family home and the right connections in her Southern town. But a trove of disturbing letters sends her searching for the truth behind the comfortable life she’s been bequeathed.

On the same morning but at different moments, Tacker and Kate encounter a young African-American, Gaines Townson, and their stories converge with his. As Winston-Salem is pulled into the tumultuous 1960s, these three Americans find themselves at the center of the civil rights struggle, coming to terms with the legacies of their pasts as they search for an ennobling future.

FOR BOOKCLUBS! SwimmingBetweenWorlds_BookClubKit


18 April, 2018

Death of a King, Robert Evert

The thrilling second installment in the Quests of Kings series, perfect for fans of Becky Wallace and Rae Carson.


12 April, 2018

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS, Elaine Neil Orr

From the critically acclaimed writer of A Different Sun, a Southern coming-of-age novel that sets three very different young people against the tumultuous years of the American civil rights movement…

“A perceptive and powerful story told with generosity and grace. The struggle of its deftly-drawn young characters to navigate the monumental changes—cultural and personal—that the civil rights movement brought to the South is rich and compelling.”— New York Times bestselling author Charles Frazier

Tacker Hart left his home in North Carolina as a local high school football hero, but returns in disgrace after being fired from a prestigious architectural assignment in West Africa. Yet the culture and people he grew to admire have left their mark on him. Adrift, he manages his father’s grocery store and becomes reacquainted with a girl he barely knew growing up.

Kate Monroe’s parents have died, leaving her the family home and the right connections in her Southern town. But a trove of disturbing letters sends her searching for the truth behind the comfortable life she’s been bequeathed.

On the same morning but at different moments, Tacker and Kate encounter a young African-American, Gaines Townson, and their stories converge with his. As Winston-Salem is pulled into the tumultuous 1960s, these three Americans find themselves at the center of the civil rights struggle, coming to terms with the legacies of their pasts as they search for an ennobling future.

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS is published by Berkley, a division of Penguin Random House (April 2018).


5 April, 2018

The Human Odyssey: Navigating the Twelve Stages of Life, Thomas Armstrong

Award-winning educator Thomas Armstrong presents a nuanced, cross-cultural view of life’s journey–the human odyssey–from before birth to death.  For each of twelve stages, he explores myths and challenges.  Originally published in 2008, this important work will find new life with a new publisher. (Xia Press/Dover Publications, Spring 2019, World English)


3 April, 2018

Cold Hard Truth by Anne Greenwood Brown

Emmie O’Brien is a former good girl now on the fringe. She spent a crazy year involved with Nick, her mom’s drug dealer; after her arrest she was lucky to go back to her old life. But she’s haunted

by the choices she made—first, to be with Nick, and then later, to testify against him. Max Shepherd is a senior varsity hockey player with serious anger issues. His grief over the death of his girlfriend causes him to see injustice wherever he looks. When they meet in community service, Max is drawn to Emmie’s calm energy, but Emmie knows better than to get too close to anyone. When friends of Nick show up seeking revenge, Emmie is forced to come to terms with her past, while Max has to control his protective instincts. They must trust one another, especially when Emmie’s situation takes a dangerous turn.

“Brown’s latest is brimming with passion and suspense as Emmie and Max fight their demons of emotional abuse and anger management and become closer romantically. Reminiscent of Katie McGarry’s Say You’ll Remember Me (2018), the book reveals Emmie’s emotional abuse from Nick that she has to overcome as she tries to open her heart to Max. With a gripping plot from the beginning, Brown’s enticing novel reads from both Max’s and Emmie’s perspectives as they both slowly reveal their pasts.” — Booklist 

Anne Greenwood Brown is an attorney by day and young adult novelist by night. Her works include the Lies Beneath trilogy and Girl Last Seen, which she coauthored with Heather Anastasiu. Anne lives in Minnesota.


19 October, 2017

CYBERCIVICS: A Parent’s Guide to Helping Kids Build a Healthy Relationship with Technology by Diana Graber

Digital literacy educator and founder of CyberWise, Diana Graber helps parents teach their digital kids the skills they need to avoid the pitfalls associated with tech while at the same time learning to harness the amazing tools they have at their fingertips so they can build happy and successful lives. (Amacom/World Rights/2019)


7 August, 2017

WILD CHILD by A.S. Green

In this follow-up to SUMMER GIRL, A.S. Green takes us back to Little Bear Island as a former Navy SEAL now private investigator arrives to provide security for a celebrity wedding and comes face-to-face with the most terrifying challenge of his life: a small-town island girl whose sharp tongue and take-no-prisoners attitude is seriously throwing him off his game. (Entangled Embrace, World 2018)


4 October, 2016

SNEAKY BLENDS: Supercharge Your Health with more than 100 Recipes, Missy Chase Lapine

The New York Times bestselling author of The Sneaky Chef brings us the next trend in healthy eating with delicious and easy recipes whipped up with nutrient-dense purees to create leaner, cleaner yet ridiculously tasty meals.
91qlSEkp-oLSneakyB
BLEND (blend) NOUN: a combination of different tastes made from superfoods, like blueberries, kale, and broccoli that are packed with disease fighting phytonutrients, fiber, and low in calories.

When the New York Times bestselling Sneaky Chef took off, Missy Chase Lapine knew parents were finally getting their kids to eat healthy with hidden veggie purees (a.k.a. Blends). What surprised her, though, was that those same parents were using Blends in their own recipes and feeling more energized. Taking her cue from those parents, Missy is on a mission with Sneaky Blends to show how anyone can eat healthy without sacrificing taste.

Starting off with fifteen signature Base Blends, such as Butternut Squash-Apple, Black Bean-Blueberry-Baby Kale, and Carrot-Sweet Potato, Missy shows you how these nutrient packed blends can kick start your healthy lifestyle. When these blends are added to your favorite recipes or one of Missy’s delicious recipes like Zucchini Pasta Piccata, Chai Tea Smoothie Bowl, Cheesy Kale-Basil Soufflé, Meaty Mushroom Bolognese, or 45-Calorie Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, they instantly become healthy. This is healthy eating without deprivation!

Missy also has created the Blends Cleanse™, a 3-day Body Reboot that you can tailor to your own lifestyle, giving you a diet do-over and setting you on the path to weight loss. Full of gorgeous color photos and tips and tricks to start blending, this is the only cookbook you will need to detox and transform your overall health while still enjoying delicious meals.

“Sneaky Blends provides mouthwatering options that get those much needed veggies in our diets!” (-Devin Alexander, New York Times bestselling cookbook author and celebrity chef)

“…A new way to bring out all that is good in the foods we eat and feed our families every day. This book will make daily meals healthy, hearty and delicious.” (Todd English, celebrity chef, restaurateur, author and television personality)

“Missy has been a champion of children’s health through her innovative Sneaky Chef books – bringing easy ways to add vegetables and other nutritious foods into our kids’ diets. Now with Sneaky Blends, we adults have a delicious chance to enjoy her signature blends and purees for ourselves! The book is beautiful to browse, and the recipes so delicious, it makes healthy eating a pleasure!” (Elizabeth Pantley, Author of The No-Cry Picky Eater Solution: Gentle Ways to Encourage Your Child to Eat — and Eat Healthy)

“With Missy’s recipes, we have no excuse for avoiding all the delicious satisfying foods we’ve all been neglecting. She understands flavors and texture as well as any chef and edits her recipes for a healthy experience.” (Daniel Boulud, Chef/Owner, The Dinex Group)

Missy Chase Lapine is best known as the originator of the successful Sneaky Chef series of books, including her flagship New York Times bestseller, The Sneaky Chef: Simple Strategies for Hiding Healthy Foods in Kids’ Favorite Meals. Missy is also the founder of Sneaky Chef Foods, LLC, a company that develops food products that fit with the Sneaky Chef mission, such as Sneaky Chef No-Nut Butter and pasta sauces made with hidden veggies. Former publisher of Eating Well magazine, Missy lives in Westchester County, New York, with her husband and two daughters.