News

4 January, 2021

THE RULE OF ST. BENEDICT, Philip Freeman

The Rule of St. Benedict has governed monastic communities for centuries, but it is far more than a standard religious text. The Rule is, above all, a handbook for living a deliberate life―no matter your religious background or beliefs. It teaches the importance of contemplation and silence, of solitude, and the power of community and unity.

With lessons focusing on the simple acts of everyday life, like eating and daily work, along with wisdom for the deeply personal and internal facets of living, such as cultivating humility and practicing forgiveness, The Rule of St. Benedict is a profound guide to living a good and meaningful life.

An award-winning translator, Philip Freeman’s version of The Rule is beautifully accessible in its language. With a simple and direct style, the book lays out a way of living that is transformative in its simplicity and striking in its power. It was released by St. Martin’s Essentials in December 2020.

Praise for The Rule of St. Benedict:

“The same desire that accompanied men and women to the first European monasteries, drive many of us today to the spiritual riches of St. Benedict and his famous Rule. And there is no better guide than Philip Freeman. Highly recommended!” ―Jon M. Sweeney, author of St. Francis of Assisi: His Life, Teachings, and Practice

Praise for Phillip Freeman:
“Philip Freeman brings sexy back in Searching for Sappho.” ―Vanity Fair

“Freeman’s book is full of light and life, and readers seeking an accessible introduction to this marvelous poet need look no further.” ―Wall Street Journal

About the Author

ST. BENEDICT OF NURSIA is a Christian saint born in 480. He is best known for his Rule which he wrote in 516 to guide and instruct monks living together in community.

PHILIP FREEMAN earned a PhD from Harvard University and currently holds an endowed chair in humanities at Pepperdine University in Malibu, California. He has published over twenty books on ancient and medieval history and religion, including works on Celtic mythology and St. Patrick.


4 January, 2021

Mark Your Calendars

Next First Lady Dr. Jill Biden will address the American Library Association’s virtual Midwinter Meeting on Monday, January 25 in a conversation with ALA President Julius Jefferson, Jr.


10 September, 2020

The Clouds movie trailer is finally here!!!

We couldn’t be more excited to share the trailer for CLOUDS, the movie based on on the memoir by LAURA SOBIECH. The gorgeous movie-tie-in edition will be out from Nelson Books on October 13th, and the movie hits Disney+ on October 16th!  This movie is sad, hopeful, inspiring, exciting, and full of love, just like the book, and just like the Sobiech family.

If you want to learn more about Laura, her amazing son Zach, and Zach’s movement to fight Osteosarcoma start here: Zach’s Movement Website

 


14 April, 2020

Winters

Ben H. Winters is the author, most recently, of the novel Golden State (Mulholland/Little Brown, 2018); as well the New York Times bestselling Underground Airlines (Mulholland/Little Brown, 2016); The Last Policeman and its two sequels (Quirk); the horror novel Bedbugs (Quirk); and several works for young readers. Among other recognition, Ben’s books have received the Edgar Award for mystery writing, the Philip K. Dick award in science fiction, the Sidewise Award for alternate history, and France’s Grand Prix de L’Imaginaire. Ben’s writing has appeared in Slate and in the New York Times Book Review. He also writes for film and television, and was a producer on the FX show Legion. A film version of Bedbugs is currently in the works at MGM, with a script by the mystery writer Sara Gran. Ben lives in Los Angeles with his wife, three children, dog, and fish.


30 March, 2020

QUARANTINE! by Gay Courter

A bestselling novelist’s real-life harrowing account of confronting coronavirus on the Diamond Princess, off the coast of Japan, the successful campaign to get Americans released and the subsequent 14 days quarantine on a military base in the US. (Post Hill Press,Fall 2020, World English language rights).


23 March, 2020

Welch

 


21 January, 2020

Kennedy

In a flash of inspiration, Nancy B. Kennedy realized the 100th anniversary of women winning the vote was approaching. Was there a book in that? Of course! Suffrage books were releasing right and left. But she found a gap—the middle grade market was wide open. Inspiring women were having a moment, and Nancy wanted to get in on it.

In February 2020, the Norton Young Readers imprint of W.W. Norton & Co. will publish Nancy’s book, “Women Win the Vote: 19 for the 19th Amendment.” She’s sewing a suffragette dress, donning her “Votes for Women” sash and getting ready for the big day. She’s visiting all the big suffrage sites, including the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel at Seneca Falls, New York, where the first women’s rights convention was held in 1848.

“I’m so excited about this book!” she says. “I was born and raised in Rochester, New York, the long-time home of both Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass. I know all the abolitionist, suffrage and reform hotspots in the area. That part of New York State bred fierce activists.”

The suffrage book will be Nancy’s eighth book, many of which are collections of true-life stories. Cracker Barrel found a place in its stores nationwide for her book, Miracles & Moments of Grace: Inspiring Stories from Military Chaplains, one of four books in a series. And for her book, How We Did It, she interviewed three dozen people who had succeeded at weight loss.

Nancy holds a degree in journalism from Penn State and worked in newspapers for many years, including a stint at Dow Jones in its pioneering electronic news service. Her articles have appeared in the New York Times, the online Wall Street Journal and many other publications. She lives—and votes!—in Hopewell, New Jersey, with her husband, John, and son, Evan (when he’s home from college).

Find out more about Nancy on her website and her Facebook Page

 

 


5 November, 2019

Riders of the Realm #3: Beneath the Weeping Clouds, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

From the author of the Guardian Herd series comes the final book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called “perfect for fans of Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.”

Echofrost, Shysong, and all of Storm Herd are finally free, but their freedom came with a price. Sandwen Rider Rahkki Stormrunner has been captured by the Gorlan giants, who are quickly losing their patience with the Fifth Clan. With Rahkki in grave danger, Storm Herd must join forces with the humans they have long feared to save him.

And as sweeping monsoon rains threaten to ravage the region, enemies and friends, tame steeds and wild, will have to engage in one final battle to decide the fate of all three groups—the Sandwens, the giants, and the pegasi.


22 October, 2019

MAROONED: Jamestown, Shipwreck, and the New History of America’s Origin, by Joseph Kelly, Ph.D.

Now available in paperback, a groundbreaking history that makes the case for replacing Plymouth Rock with Jamestown as America’s founding myth.

“The U.S. loves its creation myths, and this mythmaking, myth-breaking history gives us a new character, Stephen Hopkins… Though Hopkins and those like him left few records, Kelly fleshes out the available glimpses with a vivid, detailed description of the settlement and its English and Native American contexts…Kelly’s dynamic narrative brings Jamestown to life and shows how history reflects the present as well as the past.” ―starred review, Booklist

We all know the great American origin story. It begins with an exodus. Fleeing religious persecution, the hardworking, pious Pilgrims thrived in the wilds of New England, where they built their fabled city on a hill. Legend goes that the colony in Jamestown was a false start, offering a cautionary tale. Lazy louts hunted gold till they starved, and the shiftless settlers had to be rescued by English food and the hard discipline of martial law.

Neither story is true. In Marooned, Joseph Kelly reexamines the history of Jamestown and comes to a radically different and decidedly American interpretation of these first Virginians.

In this gripping account of shipwrecks and mutiny in America’s earliest settlements, Kelly argues that the colonists at Jamestown were literally and figuratively marooned, cut loose from civilization, and cast into the wilderness. The British caste system meant little on this frontier: those who wanted to survive had to learn to work and fight and intermingle with the nearby native populations. Ten years before the Mayflower Compact and decades before Hobbes and Locke, they invented the idea of government by the people. 150 years before Jefferson, they discovered the truth that all men were equal.

The epic origin of America was not an exodus and a fledgling theocracy. It is a tale of shipwrecked castaways of all classes marooned in the wilderness fending for themselves in any way they could—a story that illuminates who we are today.


11 September, 2019

Welch

Caroline Welch is CEO of Mind Your Brain, Inc., based in Los Angeles. She is Co-Founder with Dr. Daniel J. Siegel of the Mindsight Institute whose mission is to promote the scientific understanding of well-being through online courses, workshops, books and lectures. She is also Co-Founder of PodOp, Inc., a startup in New York City. Caroline is a meditator, speaker, and currently writing her first book to be published in March 2020, titled The Gift of Presence: A Mindfulness Guide for Women (Tarcher Perigee/Penguin Random House).

Born on a working dairy farm, Caroline’s first trip out of Darien, Wisconsin was to Shiraz, Iran on a high school exchange program. That was the beginning of her love of travel and exploration which has included climbing Mount Kenya, teaching English in Japan for three years, and backpacking through 25 different countries. She was introduced to mindfulness meditation in 1978 while living in Japan.

Caroline is a graduate of the University of Wisconsin Law School and holds a Masters in Communication Studies from the University of Southern California. She has practiced law for over 25 years, in various capacities including as a corporate litigator, in-house counsel at MGM, production attorney for the television show Judge Judy, and a mediator for the Los Angeles County Superior Court.

Caroline is an avid watercolorist and has two children. She lives in Santa Monica, California with her husband.