News

31 January, 2019

Ben H. Winters’ GOLDEN STATE published simultaneously in US and UK

Here are the covers side by side.  It’s always fascinating to see the differences. I love both the US cover (left) from Mulholland, division of Little Brown, and the UK cover from our friends across the Atlantic at Penguin Random House (right).

 


13 December, 2018

THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS – Buy Books for the Ones You Love

Today, for the cook in your life, we recommend Holly Herrick’s THE NEW CHARLESTON CHEF’S TABLE: Extraordinary Recipes from the Heart of the Old South (Globe Pequot). Holly is a Cordon Bleu-trained chef who resides in Charleston. In this beautiful cookbook, illustrated with color photographs throughout, she takes us into the best eateries in this mecca of food, and shares some of their best-loved recipes. One Amazon reader, Song Weaver, gives it 5 stars, saying: “I love this book. Everything is well done: writing, photos, recipes–all awesome.”


12 December, 2018

Ben H. Winters’ THE LAST POLICEMAN trilogy–with all new covers!

Our dear friends at Quirk Publishers are repackaging Ben H. Winters’ award-winning THE LAST POLICEMAN trilogy in time for the release of his new novel, GOLDEN STATE (Mulholland/Little Brown), releasing January 22. Love, love, love these new, very commercial covers. Most of all, I appreciate the willingness of a publisher to keep re-inventing; alas, this is not always the case. Thanks especially to Brett Cohen and Jhanteigh Kupihea.


11 December, 2018

KIDS, SEX & SCREENS, Dr. Jillian Roberts

Kids, Sex & Screens is Dr. Jillian Roberts’ primer for parents that know they need to speak with their children about sexualized media, but don’t know where to start.

Our kids are being exposed to sexual content at a younger and younger age, whether through the Internet, advertisements, or interactions with their peers. When children are exposed to this sexual information without context, or images of a graphic nature, they can experience lasting psychological effects with deep-seated ramifications.

Kids, Sex & Screens (Fair Winds/Quarto, December 2018) explains in easy-to-understand language what exactly the psychological effects of that exposure can look like, and offers parents the tools and expert advice on how to handle it appropriately. Weaving eye-opening accounts from her own counseling practice with up-to-date psychological science, Dr. Jillian Roberts gives a full-fledged accounting of our sexualized society. Dr. Roberts pairs this explanation with advice and concrete actions that parents of both girls and boys desperately need.

Writing with warmth and authority, Dr. Roberts has an important message for parents: you can mitigate the risks your child faces navigating a sensational and sometimes disturbing world so that they grow up healthy and strong. Using her “7-Point Compass” as a navigational tool, Kids, Sex & Screens helps parents make sure their sons and daughters mature in a manner that is age-appropriate in a “mature content” world.

Dr. Jillian Roberts is a renowned child psychologist, author, professor, and mom of three. Considered a go-to child psychology expert for journalists, Dr. Roberts’ work has appeared in TheNew York Times and the Toronto Sun; she is also a regular contributor to Global News and has a parenting blog on Huffington Post Canada. In early 2017, Dr. Roberts co-founded FamilySparks to offer families a supportive, resource-rich community to help them navigate our increasingly complicated world.


7 November, 2018

WITNESS publishes mid-November! Check it out.

https://www.hmhbooks.com/shop/books/Witness/9781328802699


18 September, 2018

THE REMARRIAGE MANUAL: The 10 Keys that Make Sex, Money, Kids, Communication and More Work the Second Time Round, Terry Gaspard, LICSW

From the author of DAUGHTERS OF DIVORCE, marriage counselor, and relationship blogger Terry Gaspard explains how go avoid becoming another dismal divorce statistic by learning tools for handling the issues specific to a second (or third) marriage (Sounds True, World Rights, Spring 2020)


26 April, 2018

RIDERS OF THE REALM: Across the Dark Waters, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

A new and exciting fantasy novel—the first in a trilogy—from the imagination of Guardian Herd series author Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. Perfect for fans of Lisa McMann’s Going Wild, Brandon Mull’s Wild Born, or Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.

Riders of the Realm:  Across The Dark Waters (May 1, 2018, Simon & Schuster)

Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live am

ongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe.

Twelve-year-old Rahkki is a stable groom for the Riders in the Sandwen army, taking care of his brother’s winged stallion. The Sandwens believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land, and turned them into flying warhorses. But when a herd of wild steeds flies over their village, Rahkki and his clanmates are stunned.

Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free, land. Led by Echofrost and Hazelwind, the Storm Herd steeds are unaware of the Sandwens. But when the unthinkable happens, Echofrost and the rest of Storm Herd will have to come to trust the Sandwens, or both may not survive

Review


25 April, 2018

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS, Elaine Neil Orr

From the critically acclaimed writer of A Different Sun, a Southern coming-of-age novel that sets three very different young people against the tumultuous years of the American civil rights movement…

One of Buzzfeed’s “7 coming-of-age tales to pick up this April” (Berkley/April 2018)

Kate Monroe’s parents have died, leaving her the family home and the right connections in her Southern town. But a trove of disturbing letters sends her searching for the truth behind the comfortable life she’s been bequeathed.

On the same morning but at different moments, Tacker and Kate encounter a young African-American, Gaines Townson, and their stories converge with his. As Winston-Salem is pulled into the tumultuous 1960s, these three Americans find themselves at the center of the civil rights struggle, coming to terms with the legacies of their pasts as they search for an ennobling future.

FOR BOOKCLUBS! SwimmingBetweenWorlds_BookClubKit


18 April, 2018

Death of a King, Robert Evert

The thrilling second installment in the Quests of Kings series, perfect for fans of Becky Wallace and Rae Carson.


12 April, 2018

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS, Elaine Neil Orr

From the critically acclaimed writer of A Different Sun, a Southern coming-of-age novel that sets three very different young people against the tumultuous years of the American civil rights movement…

“A perceptive and powerful story told with generosity and grace. The struggle of its deftly-drawn young characters to navigate the monumental changes—cultural and personal—that the civil rights movement brought to the South is rich and compelling.”— New York Times bestselling author Charles Frazier

Tacker Hart left his home in North Carolina as a local high school football hero, but returns in disgrace after being fired from a prestigious architectural assignment in West Africa. Yet the culture and people he grew to admire have left their mark on him. Adrift, he manages his father’s grocery store and becomes reacquainted with a girl he barely knew growing up.

Kate Monroe’s parents have died, leaving her the family home and the right connections in her Southern town. But a trove of disturbing letters sends her searching for the truth behind the comfortable life she’s been bequeathed.

On the same morning but at different moments, Tacker and Kate encounter a young African-American, Gaines Townson, and their stories converge with his. As Winston-Salem is pulled into the tumultuous 1960s, these three Americans find themselves at the center of the civil rights struggle, coming to terms with the legacies of their pasts as they search for an ennobling future.

SWIMMING BETWEEN WORLDS is published by Berkley, a division of Penguin Random House (April 2018).