News

13 July, 2021

SEDUCED BY THE LIGHT: The Mina Miller Edison Story, Alexandra Rimer, Ph.D.

Historian and assistant editor at the Thomas Edison Papers at Rutgers University Alexandra Rimer, writing the first biography of the long-suffering wife of Thomas Edison, revealing the true stories of the turbulent lives of the inventor’s family that have been hidden from the public solely for the purpose of enhancing the Edison name for nearly a century. (Lyons Press, World English, 2023)


12 July, 2021

Agency Client Ben H. Winters’ THE LAST POLICEMAN is coming to the screen, says Fox.

Kyle Killen’s ‘The Last Police’ Lands Pilot Order At Fox, Marks Network’s First Pilot Deal Of Development Season


28 June, 2021

MUSCLE: The Long and Short of It, Roy A. Meals, MD

Orthopedic surgeon and author of BONES: Inside and Out, Roy A. Meals, a scientific, cultural and historical dive into the mysteries and function of one of our largest organ systems–and with it, advances in medicine and fitness.  (W.W. Norton, World Rights, Fall 2022)


17 May, 2021

THE GIFT OF PRESENCE: A Mindfulness Guide for Women, Caroline Welch

A practical, user-friendly guide for women seeking focus and calm in the midst of life’s storms, now in paperback (Tarcher Perigee, May 2021)!

“A gift for us all—filled with practical insights about the power of mindfulness.”
—ARIANNA HUFFINGTON, founder and CEO of Thrive Global

“This is an important, eye-opening book. . . . Caroline Welch offers pragmatic mindfulness exercises to discover one’s purpose in life, to summon the courage to change direction if necessary, to set priorities, and to let go of what simply can’t get done in order to cultivate inner peace and harmony.”
—SHARON SALZBERG, New York Times bestselling author of Real Happiness and Lovingkindness

Overwhelmed by the demands of family, work, and multiple responsibilities, many women find themselves feeling scattered, and distracted. In this eye-opening book, co-founder and CEO of the Mindsight Institute, Caroline Welch takes readers on a mindfulness journey to help them de-stress and cultivate inner peace. According to Welch, you do not need countless hours sitting in silence to be more present in your life–the key is to practice mindfulness wherever you are and whenever you can.

The Gift of Presence (first publication, March 2020 by Tarcher Perigee) guides readers in developing four innate capacities we all possess that will allow us to become more resilient and centered in our lives–even when life is throwing all that it has at us:

Presence: the ability to remain firmly in the present moment; to be fully aware of what’s happening as it’s happening.

Purpose: the personal meaning that gets us going and gives direction to our lives.

Pivoting: an openness to change that allows you to switch direction if that is what is needed.

Pacing: the awareness that it is impossible to do everything we want or need to do all at once; the ability to take life one step at a time.

This life-changing book reveals that you already hold in your hands the keys to a more harmonious life–you simply need to look within.

Caroline Welch is the CEO and Co-founder with Dr. Dan Siegel of the Mindsight Institute in Santa Monica, California. A graduate of the University of Wisconsin Law School with a master’s degree from the University of Southern California, she started her career in law as a corporate litigator. Welch has served as a Los Angeles County court-appointed mediator, as well as in house counsel at MGM Studios and Spelling Entertainment Group. She began her mindfulness practice forty years ago while working in Japan as an English teacher for three years. Welch provides lectures and workshops to enhance well- being in our personal and professional lives. She and her husband live in Santa Monica with their dog Charlie, and have two adult children.


4 January, 2021

THE RULE OF ST. BENEDICT, Philip Freeman

The Rule of St. Benedict has governed monastic communities for centuries, but it is far more than a standard religious text. The Rule is, above all, a handbook for living a deliberate life―no matter your religious background or beliefs. It teaches the importance of contemplation and silence, of solitude, and the power of community and unity.

With lessons focusing on the simple acts of everyday life, like eating and daily work, along with wisdom for the deeply personal and internal facets of living, such as cultivating humility and practicing forgiveness, The Rule of St. Benedict is a profound guide to living a good and meaningful life.

An award-winning translator, Philip Freeman’s version of The Rule is beautifully accessible in its language. With a simple and direct style, the book lays out a way of living that is transformative in its simplicity and striking in its power. It was released by St. Martin’s Essentials in December 2020.

Praise for The Rule of St. Benedict:

“The same desire that accompanied men and women to the first European monasteries, drive many of us today to the spiritual riches of St. Benedict and his famous Rule. And there is no better guide than Philip Freeman. Highly recommended!” ―Jon M. Sweeney, author of St. Francis of Assisi: His Life, Teachings, and Practice

Praise for Phillip Freeman:
“Philip Freeman brings sexy back in Searching for Sappho.” ―Vanity Fair

“Freeman’s book is full of light and life, and readers seeking an accessible introduction to this marvelous poet need look no further.” ―Wall Street Journal

About the Author

ST. BENEDICT OF NURSIA is a Christian saint born in 480. He is best known for his Rule which he wrote in 516 to guide and instruct monks living together in community.

PHILIP FREEMAN earned a PhD from Harvard University and currently holds an endowed chair in humanities at Pepperdine University in Malibu, California. He has published over twenty books on ancient and medieval history and religion, including works on Celtic mythology and St. Patrick.


4 January, 2021

Mark Your Calendars

Next First Lady Dr. Jill Biden will address the American Library Association’s virtual Midwinter Meeting on Monday, January 25 in a conversation with ALA President Julius Jefferson, Jr.


10 September, 2020

The Clouds movie trailer is finally here!!!

We couldn’t be more excited to share the trailer for CLOUDS, the movie based on on the memoir by LAURA SOBIECH. The gorgeous movie-tie-in edition will be out from Nelson Books on October 13th, and the movie hits Disney+ on October 16th!  This movie is sad, hopeful, inspiring, exciting, and full of love, just like the book, and just like the Sobiech family.

If you want to learn more about Laura, her amazing son Zach, and Zach’s movement to fight Osteosarcoma start here: Zach’s Movement Website

 


30 March, 2020

QUARANTINE! by Gay Courter

A bestselling novelist’s real-life harrowing account of confronting coronavirus on the Diamond Princess, off the coast of Japan, the successful campaign to get Americans released and the subsequent 14 days quarantine on a military base in the US. (Post Hill Press,Fall 2020, World English language rights).


21 January, 2020

Kennedy

In a flash of inspiration, Nancy B. Kennedy realized the 100th anniversary of women winning the vote was approaching. Was there a book in that? Of course! Suffrage books were releasing right and left. But she found a gap—the middle grade market was wide open. Inspiring women were having a moment, and Nancy wanted to get in on it.

In February 2020, the Norton Young Readers imprint of W.W. Norton & Co. will publish Nancy’s book, “Women Win the Vote: 19 for the 19th Amendment.” She’s sewing a suffragette dress, donning her “Votes for Women” sash and getting ready for the big day. She’s visiting all the big suffrage sites, including the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel at Seneca Falls, New York, where the first women’s rights convention was held in 1848.

“I’m so excited about this book!” she says. “I was born and raised in Rochester, New York, the long-time home of both Susan B. Anthony and Frederick Douglass. I know all the abolitionist, suffrage and reform hotspots in the area. That part of New York State bred fierce activists.”

The suffrage book will be Nancy’s eighth book, many of which are collections of true-life stories. Cracker Barrel found a place in its stores nationwide for her book, Miracles & Moments of Grace: Inspiring Stories from Military Chaplains, one of four books in a series. And for her book, How We Did It, she interviewed three dozen people who had succeeded at weight loss.

Nancy holds a degree in journalism from Penn State and worked in newspapers for many years, including a stint at Dow Jones in its pioneering electronic news service. Her articles have appeared in the New York Times, the online Wall Street Journal and many other publications. She lives—and votes!—in Hopewell, New Jersey, with her husband, John, and son, Evan (when he’s home from college).

Find out more about Nancy on her website and her Facebook Page

 

 


5 November, 2019

Riders of the Realm #3: Beneath the Weeping Clouds, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

From the author of the Guardian Herd series comes the final book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called “perfect for fans of Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.”

Echofrost, Shysong, and all of Storm Herd are finally free, but their freedom came with a price. Sandwen Rider Rahkki Stormrunner has been captured by the Gorlan giants, who are quickly losing their patience with the Fifth Clan. With Rahkki in grave danger, Storm Herd must join forces with the humans they have long feared to save him.

And as sweeping monsoon rains threaten to ravage the region, enemies and friends, tame steeds and wild, will have to engage in one final battle to decide the fate of all three groups—the Sandwens, the giants, and the pegasi.