Stuff in the ‘Lake Union Writers’ Category

26 November, 2018

Valerie

Julie Valerie, an avid Scrabble player who once played QWERTY on a triple word, writes humorous women’s fiction and is developing a series set in the idyllic Village of Primm  Her first novel, HOLLY BANKS FULL OF ANGST, was sold to Lake Union, a commercial women’s fiction imprint of Amazon publishing as part of a 2-book deal and will be published in early Fall 2019.

Julie serves on the board of directors for James River Writers, a multi-faceted non-profit organization based in Richmond, Virginia, that serves as central Virginia’s literary hub.

Deepening her love of the written word, Julie earned an editing certificate from the University of Chicago Graham School and is constantly humbled by the nuances of language and the nitty-gritty of grammar while strengthening her proficiency in the Chicago Manual of Style. She is the founder of the 85K Writing Challenge, providing 2,000+ writers an enriching environment to pen 85,000 words in 90 days, supported by a 12-month calendar that lends structure to the practice of productive writing.

Writing amid the mayhem and merriment of her motley crew, Julie lives and writes in Virginia, is married to her college sweetheart, has four children (two girls, two boys) and two English Labradors (one yellow, one chocolate). With a master’s degree in education and a certification in wilderness first aid, Julie enjoys reading, the study of wine, section hiking the Appalachian Trail, and travel. Connect with Julie:

Website: https://www.julievalerie.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/julie_valerie

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JulieValerieAuthor


14 November, 2018

HOLLY BANKS FULL OF ANGST & Untitled Novel, Julie Valerie

For fans of CLASS MOM and WHERE’D YOU GO BERNADETTE, a hilarious, upmarket debut about a woman struggling with fitting in, letting go, and challenging the status quo as a fish-out-of-water in a new, upscale neighborhood alongside its quirky cast of residents, by the founder of the 85K Writing Challenge. (Lake Union/Amazon Publishing, Fall 2019, World).


7 March, 2018

HUSBANDS AND OTHER SHARP OBJECTS, Marilyn Simon Rothstein

A heartwarming, hilarious novel for anyone who has ever had a family, from the author of Lift and Separate.

After a lifetime of marriage, Marcy Hammer is ready to get herself unhitched – just as everyone else in her life is looking for a commitment. Her new boyfriend, Jon, wants to get serious, and her soon-to-be ex-husband, Harvey, is desperate to get back together. When her headstrong daughter announces a secret engagement to Harvey’s attorney, Marcy finds herself planning her daughter’s wedding as she plans her own divorce.

Now with two huge events on the horizon, the indomitable Marcy soon realizes that there’s nothing like a wedding to bring out the worst in everybody. From petty skirmishes over an ever-growing guest list to awkward confrontations with her sticky-fingered new in-laws, pulling off the wedding is going to be a challenge; seeing her divorce through is going to be a trial. And trying to make everyone happy might prove to be impossible – because in the end, Marcy alone must make a choice between something old and something new.

Witty, humorous, heartwarming, entertaining, and wonderful.” Linda’s Book Obsession

“Hilariously funny, relevant, and full of charm. You can’t help but fall in love with this story! Marilyn Simon Rothstein will make you laugh and cry, and when you reach to the end, you’ll close the book with a smile on your face, fully satisfied. Highly recommended!” —Loretta Nyhan, author of All the Good Parts

“Funny, poignant, and downright heartwarming! Rothstein is definitely an author to watch. Her humor is snappy and smart, yet she knows how to tug at a reader’s heart and leave them with a sigh.” —Bette Lee Crosby, author of The Summer of New Beginnings

“From the very first page, I knew I was in expert hands; by the time I reached the last, I was already missing the hilarious and all-too-real characters in Marilyn Simon Rothstein’s Husbands and Other Sharp Objects. Rothstein has a true gift for humor and a knack for hitting the nail on the head—and her latest is no exception. Prepare to laugh a lot, cry a little, and come away from this novel feeling full of hope and joy.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences

“Hilarious and heartfelt, Rothstein’s latest overflows with authenticity as we follow Marcy navigating life after her marriage has gone to seed. The novel thrums with honesty, balanced with the perfect mix of tension, laughter, and self-discovery. Allow yourself to laugh out loud!” —Eliza Gordon, author of Dear Dwayne, With Love



2 March, 2017

Rothstein

Marilyn Simon Rothstein is the author of Lift and Separate, winner of the Star Award presented by the Women’s Fiction Writers Association for Outstanding Debut. Lift and Separate has topped the Amazon Best Seller charts in the categories of Satire as well as Humorous American Fiction. Her second novel, Husbands And Other Sharp Objects, was released by Lake Union Publishers in 2018.

Marilyn grew up in New York City, earned a degree in journalism from New York University, began her writing career at Seventeen magazine, married a man she met in an elevator, and owned an advertising agency for more than 25 years. She received an M.A. in liberal studies from Wesleyan University and an M.A. in Judaic studies from the University of Connecticut.

She enjoys reading, theater, fillm and other activities that do not require motion. Twice a year, she hosts  large, boisterous groups for holiday dinners two nights in a row. Marilyn  lives in Avon, Connecticut, near Hartford, with her husband, Alan.

Follow Marilyn on Twitter: @NounsandVerbs1, “Like” her page on FB: Marilyn Simon Rothstein