Stuff in the ‘Middle Grade’ Category

1 October, 2019

Riders of the Realm #2: Through the Untamed Sky, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Now out in paperback!

The second book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called “perfect for fans of Erin Hunter’s Warriors series,” from Jennifer Lynn Alvarez, the author of the Guardian Herd series.

After winning the wild Pegasus mare named Echofrost in a contest, Rahkki Stormrunner is officially a rider in the Sky Guard army. Rahkki is terrified of heights though, and Echofrost doesn’t want to be tamed. But with Echofrost’s herd captured by the giants and a fierce battle on the horizon, the duo will have to conquer their fears if they want to fly with the army and free the herd.

Meanwhile, back in his village, Rahkki learns of a growing rebellion to overthrow Queen Lilliam. Unfortunately, she suspects Rahkki’s behind it, and she places him under intense watch.

As Rahkki and Echofrost escape to Mount Crim to save Storm Herd, Rahkki worries that the greatest danger may not come from the impending battle against the giants, but from within his own clan.


26 March, 2019

RIDERS OF THE REALM #2: THROUGH THE UNTAMED SKY, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

The second book in a thrilling fantasy adventure trilogy that SLJ called “perfect for fans of Erin Hunter’s Warriors series,” from the author of the Guardian Herd series.

After winning the wild Pegasus mare named Echofrost in a contest, Rahkki Stormrunner is officially a rider in the Sky Guard army. Rahkki is terrified of heights though, and Echofrost doesn’t want to be tamed. But with Echofrost’s herd captured by the giants and a fierce battle on the horizon, the duo will have to conquer their fears if they want to fly with the army and free the herd.

Meanwhile, back in his village, Rahkki learns of a growing rebellion to overthrow Queen Lilliam. Unfortunately, she suspects Rahkki’s behind it, and she places him under intense watch.

As Rahkki and Echofrost escape to Mount Crim to save Storm Herd, Rahkki worries that the greatest danger may not come from the impending battle against the giants, but from within his own clan.


1 May, 2018

Across the Dark Water, Riders of the Realm Book #1, by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

A new and exciting fantasy novel—the first in a trilogy—from the imagination of Guardian Herd series author Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. Perfect for fans of Lisa McMann’s Going Wild, Brandon Mull’s Wild Born, or Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.

Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live amongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe.

Twelve-year-old Rahkki is a stable groom for the Riders in the Sandwen army, taking care of his brother’s winged stallion. The Sandwens believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land, and turned them into flying warhorses. But when a herd of wild steeds flies over their village, Rahkki and his clanmates are stunned.

Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free, land. Led by Echofrost and Hazelwind, the Storm Herd steeds are unaware of the Sandwens. But when the unthinkable happens, Echofrost and the rest of Storm Herd will have to come to trust the Sandwens, or both may not survive.


25 October, 2017

GHOST IN THE GRIFFINAGE by Heather Shumaker

Adult non-fiction author Heather Shumaker’s debut middle-grade novel GHOST IN THE GRIFFINAGE, about the mid-western Griffin siblings, Meg, Will & Ariel, and their trip to England to visit their Aunt Effie and Uncle Ben, a ginormous, lovable, and drooly Newfoundland dog.  Effie’s charming village has a bit of a ghost problem, which would be fine really (What little village doesn’t have a ghost problem? ) except that one of the ghosts has taken a liking to young Ariel. It takes a while for the siblings to realize that Ariel’s imaginary playmate isn’t so imaginary and that when this ghost says she wants to be friends, she means forever.  Grown-ups can’t see ghosts, so it’s up to Will and Meg to be clever and brave enough to work out the mystery of the ghost’s longings in time to save their sister.    (World/Simon & Schuster BFYR/Spring 2019).

 

 


17 August, 2017

Windborn (Guardian Herd #4) by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Now in paperback! 

For fans of the Warriors and the Guardians of Ga’Hoole series comes the action-packed fourth and final book in this first installment of the Guardian Herd series—with a never-before-seen short story that introduces readers to a whole new world.

After many moons of constant struggle, Star must face his toughest, deadliest challenge yet. Nightwing the Destroyer has captured all the pegasi of Anok, including Star’s friends. And when Star learns of Nightwing’s merciless plan for the captured herd, he knows the time has come to fight.

With his enemy Frostfire now as his only ally, Star searches Anok with Frostfire to track down Nightwing. And as a violent storm approaches, Star and Nightwing face off amid quaking lands, dangerous winds, and blazing fires, in a battle to end all battles—and one that will determine the fate of all the pegasi in Anok.


2 February, 2016

Where I Write: Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

My home office. Here I am signing my latest contract with Harper Collins!

This edition of  “Where I Write” is from Jennifer Alvarez author of the Guardian Herd Series from Harper Collins Childrens Books.  The third book of the series LANDFALL releases today!  And don’t miss the first two books STARFIRE and STORMBOUND.

 “I write a minimum of five days a week in my home office, but I do a lot of my thinking out on the horse trails. My current project is the Guardian Herd series, tween fantasy novels starring flying horses. The setting for each herd is based on a place I‘ve lived. The main character, Star, lives in Sun Herd’s territory, which resembles the wilds of Northern California where I live. Jack London called this area the most beautiful land in California, and I‘d have to agree. In fact, I‘ve ridden my horse right by his co
Jennifer Alvarez

My Mobile Office

ttage where he used to write. It’s often on these trail rides where I find my inspiration. I took this picture while riding my mare Maddie. See the hill we’re looking at? Well, I like to imagine my pegasi characters flying over this hill and landing at the lake for a drink of water. When I return to my desk at home, I‘m revived and ready to record the exciting things I‘ve imagined.” — Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

You can learn more about Jennifer on her Author Website: www.jenniferlynnalverez.com and follow Jen on Twitter @JenniferDiaries
You can check out all things Guardian Herd on the Official Series Website www.theguardianherd.com

5 October, 2014

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez hits the road with The Guardian Herd!

GuardianHerdSigning4

Copperfield’s Bookstore in Santa Rosa, CA

Jennifer Lynn Alvarez is on tour in September/October with her new middle-grade series THE GUARDIAN HERD: STARFIRE, which released on 09/23/14. Jennifer is visiting elementary and middle schools around the country for two weeks, followed by a round of school visits with the HarperCollins “Class Acts” school tour.

GuardianHerdTour

Circle View Elementary in Huntington Beach, CA

At her first in-store signing, THE GUARDIAN HERD: STARFIRE sold out in fifteen minutes! While it pained Jennifer to watch children leave empty-handed, she will be returning to the same store in October to sign more books. For more information about Jennifer and her new fantasy series for tweens, please visit her website.

 

 


23 September, 2014

The Guardian Herd: Starfire by Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

Starfire - Jacket

An action-packed debut novel in an exciting new tween fantasy series, perfect for fans of series like Warriors, Survivors, and Guardians of Ga’Hoole.Once every hundred years, a black foal is born, prophesized to either unite or destroy the five herds of flying horses that live in the land of Anok. This foal is fated to become the most powerful pegasus in all of Anok. Star is this black foal.Even though Star has malformed wings that make him unable to fly, the leaders of each herd will take no risks. They will execute Star on his first birthday. With the help of his friends, Star must escape the clutches of the powerful leaders. His epic journey of self-discovery turns into a battle between good and evil that will keep readers eagerly turning the pages.

23 September, 2014

The Guardian Herd: Starfire pubs today!

Starfire - JacketWe want to wish a happy book birthday to the one and only Jennifer Lynn Alvarez.  Her fantasy-adventure middle-grade debut THE GUARDIAN HERD: STARFIRE pubs today. We can’t wait for you to meet Star and his friends, the pegasi of Anok.  Book 2, STORMBOUND, is coming in April!

“The typical fantasy tale of an ordinary being destined to become something extraordinary is infused with verve and ingenuity. The pacing is quick, chock-full of adventure and twists, making it difficult to put down. Readers will be clamoring for the next book in this adventure.”—Library School Journal

“From page one, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez weaves an epic tale of a doomed black Pegasus foal named Star, whose race against time will lift the reader on the wings of destiny and danger, magic and hope. It’s a world I did not want to leave, and neither will you.” — Peter Lerangis, New York Times bestselling author in the 39 Clues series and of the Seven Wonders series


18 April, 2014

Alvarez

JENNIFER ALVAREZ-headshotJennifer Lynn Alvarez grew up with a crazy love for horses, but her family couldn’t afford them. To satisfy her cravings, she read horse books, volunteered at stables, bought horse toys, took lessons, and played “horses” at recess with her friends. She wrote in her childhood diary that one day she would be a published author, and she would own a horse that lived outside our window.

In pursuit of her goal, she worked hard at school and earned a scholarship to UC Berkeley, where she studied English literature. She wrote in her college essay that her ambition was to write animal stories for children. After she graduated from college, she proudly purchased her first horse, a failed Thoroughbred racer named Splash. The mare reared every time she rode her, kicked her twice, and trampled her once—of course Jennifer loved her dearly. Meanwhile, Jennifer wrote middle-grade novels about animals, but she was intimidated by the process of getting them published.

Time went by, and once her youngest child began school, Jennifer resurrected her publishing dreams. She still wanted to write a book about horses, but she felt like every horse story had already been told. Then in June 2012, she was driving down the freeway and she was struck by an intense visualization. Jennifer saw a herd of flying horses and they were migrating! A white mare, heavily pregnant, was struggling to keep up.

A burning curiosity to know more about the pegasi and the special unborn foal overcame her. As soon as she arrived home, Jennifer began Starfire. She wrote the first draft at a lightning pace, revised it, and then sent it to Jacqueline Flynn at Joelle Delbourgo & Associates. Everything happened quickly after that because as it turns out . . . not every horse story has been told!

Jennifer is now living her dream. The second book of her new trilogy, RIDERS OF THE REALMlaunches on March 26th, 2019 with the publication of THROUGH THE UNTAMED SKY(HarperCollins Children’s Books). She is also the author of The Guardian Herd Series and The Pet Washer. 

You can find more information about Jennifer and her projects on her website, on Twitter @JenniferDiaries, and on her Facebook author page.

Learn more about Jennifer’s books on the Official Site