Stuff in the ‘my part-time Paris life’ Category

18 October, 2016

Anselmo

Lisa Anselmo-Author-My (Part-time) Paris Life-0054-Carla CoulsonLisa Anselmo has spent most of her professional career in magazine publishing, working on such iconic brands as Allure, Mademoiselle, InStyle, and People. She’s been everything from a creative director to an opera singer, but ultimately she followed her passion to become a writer, with her memoir, My Part-Time Paris Life (Thomas Dunne Books/Macmillan, October 2016), which grew out of her blog of the same name.

Anselmo started traveling to Paris regularly more than ten years ago—at first, to cover the fashion trade shows for a lifestyle website. But soon, she had cultivated friends—both Parisians and expats—and eventually built another life across the ocean. After losing her mother to breast cancer, she was motivated to make her other life official, buying an apartment in Paris’s Right Bank.

In 2014, she decided to leave her day job, and now splits her time between New York and Paris, where she writes full time. Her experiences inspired the memoir My (Part-Time) Paris Life, a candid narrative of a woman searching for hope and healing in the city she loves.

blog:  myparttimeparislife.com

series:  my parttimeparislife

twitter: @Lisa_Anselmo

Facebook:  mypartimeparislife

Pinterest: lisaanselmo16

Instagram: lisa_anselmo

www.lisaanselmo.com


10 October, 2016

MY (PART-TIME) PARIS LIFE, Lisa Anselmo

Lisa Anselmo wrapped her entire life around her mother, a strong woman who was a defining force in Lisa’s 51lQS88CHALParislife―maybe too defining. When her mother dies from breast cancer, Lisa realizes she hadn’t built a life of her own and struggles to find her purpose. Who is she without her mother―and her mother’s expectations?

Desperate for answers, she turns to her favorite city―Paris―and impulsively buys a small apartment. What starts out as an act of survival sets Lisa on a course that reshapes her life in ways she never could have imagined. Suddenly, she’s living like a local in a city she thought she knew, but her high school French, while fine for buying bread at the corner boulangerie, goes only so far when Paris gives her a strong dose of real life. From dating to home ownership in a foreign country, Lisa quickly learns it’s not all picnics on the Seine, and starts to doubt herself―and her love of the city. But she came to Paris to be happy, and she can’t give up now. Isn’t happiness worth fighting for?

In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love and Wild, My (Part-time) Paris Life (Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martins Press, October 2016) is a story is for anyone who’s ever felt lost or hopeless, but still dreams of something more. This candid memoir explores one woman’s search for peace and meaning, and how the ups and downs of expat life in Paris taught her to let go of fear, find self-worth, and create real, lasting happiness in the City of Light.

“A poignant meditation on self-love, maternal loss ― and the restorative force that is Paris.”
―Jennifer Coburn, author of We’ll Always Have Paris

“Charming. This book feels as if Lisa Anselmo is telling you her Paris story over coffee at a café. An intimate account of learning to grieve the loss of a parent while, at the same time, striving to live your dreams.”
Janice MacLeod, New York Times-bestselling author of Paris Letters

“Leading with her heart, Lisa takes us inside the “real”Paris: the Paris of intermittent ecstasy and agony, triumph and frustration, magic and dysfunction. Her honesty, vulnerability and simple joie de vivre through the journey make it a pleasurable trip indeed.”
―Amy Thomas, author of Paris My Sweet: A Year in the City of Light (and Dark Chocolate)

LISA ANSELMO has spent most of her professional career in magazine publishing, working on such iconic brands as Allure, Mademoiselle, InStyle, and People. She’s been everything from a creative director to an opera singer, but ultimately, she has followed her passion for storytelling and inspiring people.  Anselmo started traveling to Paris regularly more than ten years ago―at first, to cover the fashion trade shows for a lifestyle website.In 2014, she decided to leave her day job, and now splits her time between New York and Paris, where she writes full time.


15 May, 2014

MY PART-TIME PARIS LIFE, Lisa Anselmo

Blogger of www.myparttimeparislife.com Lisa Anselmo’s MY (PARTTIME) PARIS LIFE, chronicling how, after her mother’s death, the author confronts her lifelong fear of change, buys an apartment in Paris, and discovers that this one decision opens doors to a new life she never would have imagined  (Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press/World Rights/2016 publication).