Stuff in the ‘Pegasus’ Category

2 October, 2018

PHARAOH’S TREASURE: THE ORIGIN OF PAPER AND THE RISE OF WESTERN CIVILIZATION, John Gaudet, Ph.D.

Just published from Pegasus Books!

“A lively overview of a medium that was central to public and private life in the ancient world.
An engaging journey to the distant past.”
– Kirkus Reviews

A thought-provoking history of papyrus paper―from its origins in Egypt to its spread throughout the world―revealing how it helped usher in a new era of human history.

For our entire history, humans have always searched for new ways to share information. This innate compulsion led to the origin of writing on the rock walls of caves and coffin lids or carving on tablets. But it was with the advent of papyrus paper when the ability to record and transmit information exploded, allowing for an exchanging of ideas from the banks of the Nile throughout the Mediterranean―and the civilized world―for the first time in human history.

In The Pharaoh’s Treasure, John Gaudet looks at this pivotal transition to papyrus paper, which would become the most commonly used information medium in the world for more than 4,000 years. Far from fragile, papyrus paper is an especially durable writing surface; papyrus books and documents in ancient and medieval times had a usable life of hundreds of years, and this durability has allowed items like the famous Nag Hammadi codices from the third and fourth century to survive.

The story of this material that was prized by both scholars and kings reveals how papyrus paper is more than a relic of our ancient past, but a key to understanding how ideas and information shaped humanity in the ancient and early modern world.

16 pages of color photographs; B&W illustrations throughout

About the Author
A Fulbright Scholar to both India and Malaya, John Gaudet is a writer and practicing ecologist. His early research on papyrus, funded in part by the National Geographic Society, took him to Uganda, Kenya, Sudan, and Ethiopia. A trained ecologist with a PhD from University of California at Berkeley, he is the author of Papyrus: The Plant that Changed the World, and his writing has appeared in Science, Nature, Ecology, the Washington Post, Salon and the Huffington Post. He lives in McLean, Virginia. Follow John on Twitter @BwanaPapyrus


26 April, 2018

RIDERS OF THE REALM: Across the Dark Waters, Jennifer Lynn Alvarez

A new and exciting fantasy novel—the first in a trilogy—from the imagination of Guardian Herd series author Jennifer Lynn Alvarez. Perfect for fans of Lisa McMann’s Going Wild, Brandon Mull’s Wild Born, or Erin Hunter’s Warriors series.

Riders of the Realm:  Across The Dark Waters (May 1, 2018, Simon & Schuster)

Deep in the jungles of the Realm, the Sandwen clan live am

ongst deadly spit dragons and hordes of warring giants. But with their winged battle horses, they manage to keep their people safe.

Twelve-year-old Rahkki is a stable groom for the Riders in the Sandwen army, taking care of his brother’s winged stallion. The Sandwens believe they have tamed all the wild pegasi in their land, and turned them into flying warhorses. But when a herd of wild steeds flies over their village, Rahkki and his clanmates are stunned.

Meanwhile, a small herd of pegasi have journeyed across a treacherous ocean to settle in a new, and free, land. Led by Echofrost and Hazelwind, the Storm Herd steeds are unaware of the Sandwens. But when the unthinkable happens, Echofrost and the rest of Storm Herd will have to come to trust the Sandwens, or both may not survive

Review


19 October, 2017

THE PHAROAH’S TREASURE: The Origin of Paper and the Rise of Western Civilization by John Gaudet

Author of Papyrus: The Plant that Changed the World: From Ancient Egypt to Today’s Water Wars, John Gaudet, Ph.D’s THE PHARAOH’S TREASURE: The Origin of Paper and the Rise of Western Civilization, a multi-disciplinary history of how the first paper fueled the development of Western Civilization beginning in Egypt during the Neolithic period through the introduction of rag paper from China. (Pegasus/World Rights/Fall 2018)


21 November, 2014

Listen to Your Authors: Meet the Publisher of “Yes,”Pegasus

I recently had a rather extraordinary experience.

Let me give a little context.  So often, my clients get frustrated with their publishers.  They are, of course, grateful to their publishers for having selected their boo4k. But when the time comes to plan marketing campaigns, communication often seems to turn to a one-way street.  The publisher sends the author an exhaustive questionnaire to fill out in which the author can share everything he knows, every contact he has that might prove useful in pitching the book to media and for general promotion.   The publisher then keeps asking:  what can you–the author–do for us?  The author, who generally has some level of platform he or she has worked hard to build–jumps and then jumps higher.  The author is smart enough to know that a pro-active author who brings a lot to the table and is cooperative will be viewed as a “good” author.  An author who balks at these tasks or asks too many questions could be labeled “a problem.”

Then we wait.  Publication comes and goes.  Within a week of pub, if the book is not flying out of the stores or off the virtual shelves, the publisher expresses deep disappointment.  The book is not performing well.  The publicist is very busy and stops responding to calls and emails from the author.  The publicist has sent out many pitches, but no, there is little response.  The publicist moves on.  The author, it is sometimes implied, has not delivered.

Imagine a scenario in which two authors who have been previously published, one with an award-winning book and another, with a string of international bestsellers that are often tied to television series, find themselves with a small, but gutsy publisher.  This publisher is unafraid.  This publisher takes risks. This publisher listens to the authors and their ideas.  This publisher doesn’t have a huge budget, but nonetheless, invests heavily, not just in terms of money but also sweat equity.  This publisher actually hires a publicist in the UK, where it is distributing the book, and facilitates a brilliant launch event that spawns publicity worldwide.

This publisher says yes to just about every good idea the authors have.  This publisher is a joy to work with, agreeable, feisty, clever, resourceful.  The publisher is Pegasus, run by husband-and-wife team Claiborne Hancock and Jessica Case. The book in question is THE LOST GOSPEL, by Simcha Jacobovici and Barrie Wilson, and is it extremely controversial.  Claiborne and Jessica fly to London for the press conference launch at the British Library no less, and voila: we are suddenly everywhere with this book.  GMA, CNN, Conan O’Brien, msnbc, on and on and on.  Some posts on social media go viral. The book makes it at one point to 92 on Amazon’s list (before Amazon finds itself out of stock).

Hats off to the publisher of “yes.”  What a concept! A publisher who listens to the authors, who actually believes that perhaps the authors know something about their audience, their subject matter, and how to pitch their book.  How refreshing!  I’m so pleased that this agency has five books under contract to this wonderful independent publisher, and I am looking forward to each and every publication, in the spirit of true collaboration.

Thank you, Pegasus!

–Joelle Delbourgo