Stuff in the ‘Stephen Kelly’ Category

29 October, 2018

HUSHED IN DEATH (An Inspector Lamb Mystery), Stephen Kelly

In the third volume of the Inspector Lamb mystery series, a murder at a hospital for veterans in rural England leaves Lamb with a village full of suspects, each with a motive and secrets of their own.  (Pegasus Books, November 2019)

“This will appeal to fans of Rennie Airth and Charles Todd.”
Publishers Weekly

In the spring of 1942, with the war in Europe raging, a gruesome murder shocks the rural community of Marbury, where a once-grand estate called Elton House has been transformed into a hospital for “shell-shocked” officers sent back from the front lines. When Detective Chief Inspector Lamb arrives to solve the case, he quickly learns that the victim, Elton House’s gardener Joseph Lee, had plenty of enemies in Marbury—and so he and his team have plenty of suspects.
Along with his team of investigators, which includes his daughter Vera, Lamb begins to untangle the threads of rivalry and deceit that lie beneath the surface of the seemingly-peaceful countryside village. It soon becomes clear that Lee’s mysterious past is intertwined with the history of Elton House itself, which fell into disrepair a generation earlier after a shockingly similar murder, and the mystery deepens further when Lamb discovers that one of the prime suspects has seemingly committed suicide.

As Lamb pieces together the connections between the crimes of the present and those of the past, he must dive into the darkest, most secret corners of Elton House to discover who is committing murder, and why.

About Stephen Kelly:

I’ve always loved reading good mystery novels, especially those from the English masters — Conan Doyle, Dame Agatha, Colin Dexter, Peter Robinson and others. I’m also a huge fan of the Norwegian crime novelist, Karin Fossum. Before turning to writing fiction with a vengeance, though, I was, for nearly thirty years, a newspaper reporter, editor and columnist. My work has appeared in the Baltimore Sun, The Washington Post, Baltimore Magazine, The Columbia Flier and Howard County Times. I have a Master’s from the Johns Hopkins University Writing Seminars and have taught writing and journalism at Hopkins, Towson University, in Baltimore, and Sweet Briar College, in Virginia. I live in Columbia, Maryland, with my wife, Cindy, and our daughters, Anna and Lauren.

24 October, 2016

The Language of the Dead, Stephen Kelly (Paperback)

As the shadow of World War II descends over Europe, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer behind the veil of a seemingly charming English village.Kelly

German bobmers are arriving daily, seeking to crush England. But in a rural Hampshire village, things appear quiet, until an elderly loner, Will Blackwell, is brutally murdered.  The killing bears the hallmarks of a traditional witch vanquishing, and indeed, local legend claims that as a boy, Blackwell made a deal with the devil.

Not long after, a young woman carrying the illegitimate child of a fighter pilot and a local drunkard are slain. As the Germans continue their relentless attack, Inspector Lamb rushes to solve the crimes. Does the killer’s motivation lie in the murky regions of the occult?

Now in paperback (July 2016, Pegasus), the first in the series of World War II mysteries featuring Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb has received acclaim.  Publishers Weekly calls The Language of the Dead “a superior whodunit” while Library Journal declares:  “Fans of well-researched historical mysteries,particularly the world of Charles Todd and Charles Finch, will welcome this debut that introduces a complex, driven hero. ”

Stephen Kelly is an award-winning writer, reporter and newspaper columnist.


1 May, 2015

WAGES OF DESIRE, Stephen Kelly

The second Inspector Lamb World War II mystery (following The Language of the Dead), set in 1941, involves the discovery of a dead woman in the local village cemetery that may be linked to a long-buried secret, who killed young twin boys 20 years prior.  Once again, Kelly draws on the impact of events of the war on village life, revealing a pernicious underbelly of lies. (Pegasus/World Rights/Spring 2016)


16 April, 2015

THE LANGUAGE OF THE DEAD, Stephen Kelly

“A fine-grained first novel.” (Kirkus Reviews)

As the shadow of World War II descends over Europe, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb hunts for an elusive killer behind the veil of a seemingly charming English village.

German bombersLanguage of the Dead_CVRare arriving daily, seeking to crush England.  But in a rural Hampshire village, things have remained fairly quiet–until an elderly loner, Will Blackwell, is brutally murdered.  The method of his killing bears the hallmarks of the traditional vanquishing of a witch, and indeed, local legend claims that as a boy, Blackwell encountered a ghostly black dog sent from the devil who struck a bargain for Blackwell’s soul. Not long after the murder, a young woman who is carrying the illegitimate child of a fighter pilot also is violently killed; then a local drunkard ends up dead in an abandoned mill.  As the Germans continue their relentless attack, Detective Inspector Thomas Lamb must solve the crimes.  Do the killer’s motivations lie in the murky regions of the occult?

Filled with believable, psychologically complex characters in a vividly evoked historical setting, this superbly written, suspenseful mystery keeps the reader guessing from the very beginning to a startling conclusion.” (Gary Inbinder, author of The Devil in Montmartre)

This is a thrilling read. An evocative debut with a dark secret at its heart, Language of the Dead grips from the beginning and refuses to relinquish its hold until the final page. Based on a real case the novel takes the facts in a new and original direction, providing a thrilling dénouement via some very satisfying twists and turns. I for one can’t wait to read more about the adventures of Inspector Lamb and his team in the future.” (Diana Bretherick, author of City of Devils)

A gripping mystery set in the middle of the German air raids on Britain in World War Two. Grisly murder, war, the occult, and lively characters with dark secrets all come together in this fine story.” (Philip Freeman, author of St. Brigid’s Bones)


3 February, 2015

THE LANGUAGE OF THE DEAD, Stephen Kelly

Love this beautiful cover that Pegasus designed for Stephen Kelly’s debut mystery, THE LANGUAGE OF THE DEAD, the first in a series of Inspector Lamb mysteries that is set in an English village during World War II.

Language of the Dead_CVR Language of the Dead_3D